
I’m pretty confident that I’m going to select the street racing subculture to analyze. I want to study those guys that bolt on new exhausts, air intakes, and turbos and pit their rides against any other driver that will step up to the challenge. It takes a lot of guts to be a racer. They risk arrest by the police when they race, and also a wad of cash (sometimes even their ride).
I find the time, money, blood, and sweat put into these cars just fascinating. How they can change a car that came with 160 horsepower from the factory to over 500 horsepower is truly astounding. I’m also want to find out how they acquired their cars in the first place, where they get their parts, and how they got the cash for the two. (Supposedly many of the cars and parts that street racers possess are stolen.)
A definite challenge will be finding street racers without Hot Import Nights in town anymore. Since most of the racing is illegal, many of the racers don’t advertise their activities to the general public, otherwise the cops would get wind of what’s “going down.” A know a few guys who are into the whole tuner scene so they can act as my “identity broker” or whatever. They can tell me who the real racers around here are.
Many of the guys into racing work with me at the school auto garage. At least three of them are what I like to call “would be tuners.” That is, if they had the cash. They usually know what’s going on and could easily tell me who I should contact to get a good view at street racing.
My only real concern is time. I’m currently working two jobs, I’m involved in pop choir, NHS, and the Trojan Times, and I’m also enrolled in all of the CIS classes that our school had to offer.
My thesis? The real question is if street racing is a dangerous form of entertainment and an adrenaline rush or if it’s more of a fun hobby. It’s like building real cars instead of tiny models. In my opinion, the average street racer spends a lot more time working on his car than actually driving it, so I consider it more of a hobby.